Council of Europe

Council of Europe

The Council of Europe grants participatory status to organisations recognised for their competence and expertise. The FEDE, which holds participatory status at the Council of Europe, works through the Council to advance a progressive model for education in Europe.

The FEDE aims to bring universities and independent higher educational institutions together in the name of a powerful ambition: to create a vast shared European educational space.

The FEDE promotes education and learning for all, with a particular emphasis on freedom of education and intercultural dialogue.

Within the Council of Europe the FEDE is a member of the Conference of International Non-Governmental Organisations, which represents civil society at the Council. Acting through the Conference, the FEDE aims to support and promote the work of the Council of Europe.

The FEDE participates as an expert in the work of the Education and Culture and Human Rights Committees.

PARTICIPATORY STATUS AT THE COUNCIL OF EUROPE

Aware that INGOs play an essential role in European society and democracy, the Council of Europe grants participatory status to those INGOSs that it recognises for their remarkable competence and expertise. Since 1987, the FEDE has enjoyed this prestigious status granted by the Council.

The FEDE also assists the Council of Europe by bringing to bear its expert knowledge on higher and vocational teaching, training and general educational matters.

Currently just 325 INGOs, representing, in total, 47 countries, hold participatory status at the Council of Europe.

INGOs can contribute to the work of the Council of Europe in numerous ways – from participating in consultations to collaborating closely with the Council on specific projects. The experts representing the various INGOs (including those from the FEDE) can provide consulting services, participate in the work of intergovernmental committees, address advice and information to the Secretary General of the Council of Europe, submit written declarations or make oral presentations to the committees of the Parliamentary Assembly and the Congress, and speak at seminars organised by the Council of Europe.

The FEDE took on a new role at the Council of Europe on 29 June 2017 when Claude Vivier Le Got, Chairwoman of the FEDE, was elected Chairwoman of the Education and Culture Committee of the Conference of INGOs of the Council of Europe.

On 22 March 2018, Claude Vivier Le Got was also elected Observer representing the NGOs at the bureau of the Steering Committee for Educational Policy and Practice (CDPPE).

‘The FEDE wishes to demonstrate its commitment to teaching values via education. We believe that education plays an essential role in nurturing awareness of European cultural identity, diversity and democracy. Strengthening human rights, democracy and the rule of law is not simply desirable – it is a demand that must emerge loud and clear from the mouths of our citizens. I’m convinced that the idea of ‘Europe’ remains vital and progressive and that civil society must firmly grab hold of it.’

Claude Vivier Le Got

THE FEDE’S CONTRIBUTIONS

The INGOs holding participatory status at the Council of Europe regularly meet in Strasbourg (France) for the Conference of INGOs.

The work of the Conference is shared between a number of committees, each with a different thematic focus. The FEDE is a member of three committees but is particularly active in two of them: the Education and Culture Committee and the Human Rights Committee.

The FEDE brings to these committees not only its educational expertise but also the vast experience of its 500 member institutions, its teachers, its researchers and its affiliated professionals and international experts.

Claude Vivier Le Got, Chairwoman of the FEDE, has also chaired the Education and Culture Committee since June 2017.

The Education and Culture Committee focuses on strengthening the fundamental values underpinning harmonious living in Europe. Composed of a group of experts, it has considerable influence on national and European policies. It aims to act as a relay between the Council of Europe and European INGOs, both communicating the Council of Europe’s values to the INGOs and, in turn, communicating the INGOs’ practices to the Council of Europe.

In February 2018 the Committee adopted its 2018-2020 roadmap. Given the rise of populism, fuelled by the search for identity, mass urbanisation, digitalisation, and the increasing influence of economics on politics, the Education and Culture Committee has established four working groups whose goal is to raise awareness and generate policy proposals. The themes addressed by the working groups cover contemporary educational, cultural, artistic, social and civilisational issues and are part of a broader project to construct, enact and reinforce European cultural identity.

The work of the Education and Culture Committee is currently based on the following four themes, each of which is addressed by a different working group:

  • Intercultural cities
  • The right to lifelong education
  • Heritage and creation in Europe
  • Digital citizenship

The overall objective of the Education and Culture Committee’s working groups is to produce, by June 2020, a multifaceted publication – a white paper – proposing a modern definition of European cultural identity. This definition, generated from within civil society, is intended to give new life to our shared European values.

The white paper aims to set out preliminary ideas that everyone (individuals, teachers, towns, States and institutions) will be able to adopt. It aims to detail a range of unique, open-minded approaches that are tolerant of diversity in our contemporary intercultural world.

To this end, the Education and Culture Committee has initiated dialogue between the Council of Europe’s INGOs and various European and international political actors (ambassadors, politicians, diplomats, experts and local representatives) on how we might construct the modern foundations of European identity. The first consultation took place on 27 June 2018 and involved European political actors. The second, held on 9 April 2019, was attended by educational experts from UNESCO. And the third consultation, to be held on a date between 28 and 31 October 2019, will be attended by local representatives and political actors.

The Human Rights Committee focuses on promoting human rights in Europe. In February 2018 the Committee adopted its 2018-2020 roadmap.

The Committee concentrates on the following four areas:

  • freedom of expression and freedom of the media;
  • cyberspace, privacy rights and data protection;
  • the monitoring role of INGOs;
  • poverty.

Conseil de l’Europe

Conseil de Europe

Le Conseil de l’Europe accorde le statut participatif à des organisations reconnues pour leur compétence et leur expertise. La FEDE, qui détient le statut participatif au Conseil de l’Europe, travaille par l’intermédiaire du Conseil pour faire avancer un modèle progressif d’éducation en Europe.

La FEDE vise à rassembler les universités et les établissements d’enseignement supérieur indépendants au nom d’une ambition forte : créer un vaste espace éducatif européen commun.

La FEDE promeut l’éducation et l’apprentissage pour tous, avec un accent particulier sur la liberté d’enseignement et le dialogue interculturel.

Au sein du Conseil de l’Europe, la FEDE est membre de la Conférence des organisations internationales non gouvernementales, qui représente la société civile au sein du Conseil. Agissant par l’intermédiaire de la Conférence, la FEDE vise à soutenir et à promouvoir le travail du Conseil de l’Europe.

La FEDE participe en tant qu’expert aux travaux des commissions de l’éducation et de la culture et des droits de l’homme.

Commission Education & Culture

Conseil de l'Europe

STATUT PARTICIPATIF AU CONSEIL DE L'EUROPE

Conscient que les OING jouent un rôle essentiel dans la société et la démocratie européennes, le Conseil de l’Europe accorde un statut participatif aux OING qu’il reconnaît pour leur compétence et leur expertise remarquables. Depuis 1987, la FEDE bénéficie de ce statut prestigieux accordé par le Conseil.

La FEDE assiste également le Conseil de l’Europe en apportant son expertise en matière d’enseignement supérieur et professionnel, de formation et d’enseignement général.

Actuellement, seules 325 OING, représentant au total 47 pays, sont dotées du statut participatif au Conseil de l’Europe.

Les OING peuvent contribuer au travail du Conseil de l’Europe de nombreuses manières – de la participation à des consultations à la collaboration étroite avec le Conseil sur des projets spécifiques. Les experts représentant les différentes OING (y compris ceux de la FEDE) peuvent fournir des services de consultation, participer aux travaux des comités intergouvernementaux, adresser des conseils et des informations au Secrétaire Général du Conseil de l’Europe, soumettre des déclarations écrites ou faire des présentations orales aux commissions de l’Assemblée parlementaire et du Congrès, et intervenir lors de séminaires organisés par le Conseil de l’Europe.

La FEDE a assumé un nouveau rôle au Conseil de l’Europe le 29 juin 2017 lorsque Claude Vivier Le Got, présidente de la FEDE, a été élue présidente de la Commission de l’éducation et de la culture de la Conférence des OING du Conseil de l’Europe.

Le 22 mars 2018, Claude Vivier Le Got a également été élue observatrice représentant les ONG au bureau du Comité directeur pour les politiques et pratiques éducatives (CDPPE).

La FEDE souhaite démontrer son engagement en faveur de l’enseignement des valeurs par l’éducation. Nous pensons que l’éducation joue un rôle essentiel dans la sensibilisation à l’identité culturelle, à la diversité et à la démocratie européennes. Le renforcement des droits de l’homme, de la démocratie et de l’État de droit n’est pas simplement souhaitable – c’est une exigence qui doit sortir haut et fort de la bouche de nos citoyens. Je suis convaincu que l’idée de l' »Europe » reste vitale et progressiste et que la société civile doit s’y accrocher fermement ».

Claude Vivier Le Got

LES CONTRIBUTIONS DE LA FEDE

Les OING dotées du statut participatif au Conseil de l’Europe se réunissent régulièrement à Strasbourg (France) pour la Conférence des OING.

Le travail de la Conférence est partagé entre plusieurs commissions, chacune ayant un thème différent. La FEDE est membre de trois commissions mais est particulièrement active dans deux d’entre elles : la commission de l’éducation et de la culture et la commission des droits de l’homme.

La FEDE apporte à ces comités non seulement son expertise en matière d’éducation, mais aussi la vaste expérience de ses 500 institutions membres, de ses enseignants, de ses chercheurs et de ses professionnels et experts internationaux affiliés.

Claude Vivier Le Got, présidente de la FEDE, préside également la commission de l’éducation et de la culture depuis juin 2017.

La commission de l’éducation et de la culture se concentre sur le renforcement des valeurs fondamentales qui sous-tendent une vie harmonieuse en Europe. Composée d’un groupe d’experts, elle exerce une influence considérable sur les politiques nationales et européennes. Elle a pour objectif d’agir comme un relais entre le Conseil de l’Europe et les OING européennes, à la fois en communiquant les valeurs du Conseil de l’Europe aux OING et, à son tour, en communiquant les pratiques des OING au Conseil de l’Europe.

En février 2018, la Commission a adopté sa feuille de route 2018-2020. Face à la montée du populisme, alimentée par la recherche d’identité, l’urbanisation de masse, la numérisation et l’influence croissante de l’économie sur la politique, la commission de l’éducation et de la culture a créé quatre groupes de travail dont l’objectif est de sensibiliser et de générer des propositions politiques. Les thèmes abordés par les groupes de travail couvrent les questions éducatives, culturelles, artistiques, sociales et civilisationnelles contemporaines et s’inscrivent dans un projet plus large de construction, de mise en œuvre et de renforcement de l’identité culturelle européenne.

Le travail de la commission de l’éducation et de la culture repose actuellement sur les quatre thèmes suivants, chacun d’entre eux étant traité par un groupe de travail différent :

Cités interculturelles
Le droit à l’éducation tout au long de la vie
Patrimoine et création en Europe
La citoyenneté numérique

L’objectif général des groupes de travail de la commission de l’éducation et de la culture est de produire, d’ici juin 2020, une publication multiforme – un livre blanc – proposant une définition moderne de l’identité culturelle européenne. Cette définition, issue de la société civile, est destinée à donner une nouvelle vie à nos valeurs européennes communes.

Le livre blanc a pour but de présenter des idées préliminaires que chacun (individus, enseignants, villes, États et institutions) pourra adopter. Il vise à détailler une série d’approches uniques, ouvertes d’esprit et tolérantes à la diversité dans notre monde interculturel contemporain.

À cette fin, la commission de l’éducation et de la culture a engagé un dialogue entre les OING du Conseil de l’Europe et divers acteurs politiques européens et internationaux (ambassadeurs, hommes politiques, diplomates, experts et représentants locaux) sur la manière dont nous pourrions construire les fondements modernes de l’identité européenne. La première consultation a eu lieu le 27 juin 2018 et a impliqué les acteurs politiques européens. La seconde, qui s’est tenue le 9 avril 2019, a réuni des experts en éducation de l’UNESCO. Et la troisième consultation, qui se tiendra entre le 28 et le 31 octobre 2019, sera suivie par des représentants locaux et des acteurs politiques.

Le Comité des droits de l’homme se concentre sur la promotion des droits de l’homme en Europe. En février 2018, le Comité a adopté sa feuille de route 2018-2020.

Le Comité se concentre sur les quatre domaines suivants :

  • la liberté d’expression et la liberté des médias ;
  • le cyberespace, le droit à la vie privée et la protection des données ;
  • le rôle de surveillance des OING ;
  • la pauvreté.