Stand with Ukraine!

Stand with Ukraine!

Call from the FEDE to its member institutions to make classrooms available for pupils and students who have fled Ukraine

Dear members,

According to the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR), over four million Ukrainians, mostly women and children, have fled their country to escape the war and save their lives. They are now refugees. UNHCR estimates that there are also approximately 6.5 million internally displaced persons within Ukraine. In total, over 10 million people – that’s about a quarter of the population of Ukraine – have had to leave their homes. Europe has not seen such a large-scale movement of people since the Second World War.

Since the beginning of the Russian invasion on 24 February 2022, the world has watched on in horror as a free people has had to defend its right to decide its own destiny and continue to live in democracy. A large number of women have had to flee with their children, leaving their sons and husbands to fight the aggressors. In leaving their country, they risk exploitation by human traffickers eager to take advantage of their deep distress.

The humanitarian crisis has sparked solidarity in Europe and beyond. The Federation for EDucation in Europe (FEDE), which promotes universal values of democracy, human rights and the rule of law, wants to do everything it can to help Ukrainian pupils and students. We are calling on you to take concrete action to help Ukrainian refugees continue their education.

FEDE member institutions, regardless of their country, are encouraged, wherever possible, to make space available on their premises to host the Ukrainian pupils and students that have sought refuge in their country. We are also asking your teachers to help train Ukrainian women to give lessons. Much has already been done in the public sector, but the FEDE’s network of member institutions can also make an important contribution: we can help children and young people, traumatised by the terrible events in Ukraine, to keep on learning.

All member institutions wishing to get involved in this humanitarian scheme are asked to please contact the FEDE.

We hope that the scheme will help a large number of Ukrainian refugees to regain a sense of serenity and hope during these tragic times that are so difficult for them, their families and their
country.

The FEDE team

Participate to the Stand with Ukraine! Project

Sos Ukraine

SOS UKRAINE

Appel de la FEDE à ses écoles membres pour fournir des locaux aux élèves et étudiants ukrainiens réfugiés

Chers membres,

Selon le Haut-Commissariat des Nations unies pour les Réfugiés (HCR), plus de 4 millions d’Ukrainiens, essentiellement des femmes et des enfants, ont quitté leur pays pour fuir la guerre et sauver leur vie, et sont désormais des réfugiés. De plus, le HCR estime à presque 6,5 millions le nombre de déplacés à l’intérieur de l’Ukraine. Au total, plus de dix millions de personnes, soit près d’un quart de la population ukrainienne, ont dû quitter leur foyer. L’Europe n’a pas connu de tels déplacements de populations depuis la Deuxième Guerre mondiale.

Depuis l’invasion russe débutée le 24 février 2022, le monde regarde ahuri un peuple libre se défendre pour pouvoir être maître de son destin et continuer à vivre en démocratie. De nombreuses femmes seules et leurs enfants, ayant laissé leur mari et leur fils, combattre l’agresseur, risquent d’être exploités par des trafiquants d’êtres humains profitant de leur profonde détresse.

Cette catastrophe humanitaire a suscité un grand élan de solidarité à travers l’Europe et au-delà. La Fédération Européenne des Ecoles (FEDE) qui promeut les valeurs universelles de démocratie, de respect des droits humains et de l’Etat de droit a décidé d’agir à son niveau, pour les écoliers et les étudiants ukrainiens. C’est dans ce cadre que nous vous lançons un appel à agir concrètement pour aider les apprenants ukrainiens réfugiés.

Toute école membre de la FEDE, quel que soit son pays d’origine, est invitée autant que faire se peut, à proposer des locaux qui permettrait d’accueillir des apprenants ukrainiens arrivés sur leur sol. Tout professeur est invité à aider les femmes ukrainiennes à dispenser des cours. Beaucoup est déjà fait au niveau du secteur public, mais le réseau d’écoles de la FEDE peut apporter sa pierre à l’édifice de la continuité pédagogique de ces enfants et de ces jeunes traumatisés par ce qu’ils sont en train de vivre.

Toute école membre souhaitant s’engager dans cette démarche humaniste peut se rapprocher de la FEDE.

Nous espérons que notre action permettra à de nombreux apprenants ukrainiens réfugiés, de retrouver une forme de sérénité et de confiance dans l’avenir, en ces temps particulièrement dramatiques pour eux, leur famille et leur pays.

L’équipe FEDE

Participez au projet SOS UKRAINE !